Board of Patrons / Kuratorium

Giuliano Amato

Professor em. of Law, Sapienza University of Rome and European University Institute, Florence; former Prime Minister and Minister of the Interior of Italy

Kurt Biedenkopf

Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Hertie Global School of Governance, Berlin; former Prime Minister of Saxony (Germany)

Erhard Busek

Chairman, Institute for the Danube Region and Central Europe, Vienna; former Deputy Chancellor of Austria

Joschka Fischer

Senior Strategic Counsel, Albright Stonebridge Group; former Deputy Chancellor and Minister of Foreign Affairs of Germany

Peter Mitterbauer

Chairman of the Management Board, Miba AG, Laakirchen; Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Austrian Industry-Holding Stock Corporation (ÖIAG)

Christopher Schönberger

Partner of Peters, Schönberger & Partner GmbH, Munich

Karel SchwarzenbergChair

Former First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic, Prague/Vienna; Leader of the TOP 09 Party

George Soros

Founder and Chairman of Open Society Foundations, New York/Budapest

Board of Trustees / Vereinsvorstand

Susanne Baer

Judge, Federal Constitutional Court of Germany; William W. Cook Global Law Professor, University of Michigan; Professor of Public Law and Gender Studies, Humboldt University of Berlin

Heinz Fischer, President

Former Austrian President

Timothy Garton Ash

Professor of European Studies, Oxford University

Ira Katznelson

Ruggles Professor of Political Science and History, Columbia University

Ana Palacio

Founder of Palacio y Asociados (Madrid, Brussels and Washington DC); serves on the  Consejo de Estado del Reino de España (Council of State)

Wolfgang Petritsch

President of the Austrian Marshall Plan Foundation

Vesna Pusić

Former First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign and European Affairs of Croatia

Shalini Randeria, Rector

IWM Rector; Professor and Chair of the Department of Social Anthropology and Sociology, Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies (IHEID); Director,  Hirschman Centre on Democracy, IHEID, Geneva

Aleksander Smolar

Chairman of the Board, Stefan Batory Foundation, Warsaw; Co-founder and Member of the Board, European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR)

Dariusz Stola, Vice President

Historian at the ISP PAN Department of Contemporary Political History; Director of the Museum of the History of Polish Jews


Academic Advisory Board / Wissenschaftlicher Beirat

Shlomo Avineri

Jerusalem (Political Science)

Ute Frevert

Berlin (History)

Timothy Garton Ash

Oxford (History)

John Gray

London (Political Philosophy)

Amy Gutmann

Pennsylvania (Political Science)

Michael Ignatieff

Budapest (History)

Ira KatznelsonVice Chair

New York (Political Science)

Marcin Król

Warsaw (History of Ideas)

Ton Nijhuis

Amsterdam (German Studies)

Helga Nowotny

Vienna/Brussels (Sociology)

Claus Offe

Berlin (Sociology)

Anton Pelinka

Innsbruck/Budapest (Political Science)

Ulrich K. Preuß

Berlin (Public Law and Politics)

Pierre RosanvallonVice Chair

Paris (Political Science)

Michael J. Sandel

Harvard (Political Philosophy)

Saskia Sassen

New York (Sociology)

Dieter Simon

Berlin (Law)

Aleksander SmolarVice Chair

Paris/Warsaw (Political Science)

Dariusz Stola

 Warsaw (History)

Charles TaylorChair

Montréal/Vienna (Philosophy)